Becker Student-Athletes Recognized for Academic Accomplishments at Honors Society Induction and Academic Awards Ceremonies

Chi Alpha Sigma Inductees


LEICESTER, Mass. – This week, 34 Becker College student-athletes were recognized for their academic accomplishments at the Honors Society and Academic Awards Ceremony held on Tuesday, April 9 in the Minuteman Room in the Fuller Campus Center on the Becker campus in Leicester.


The evening began with recognizing those students at Becker College who were inducted into Honors Societies. 


Eight were inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta which is a national society for freshman that honors high academic achievement in the first year of college.  The following student-athletes were inducted: Rebecca Beringer (Women's Soccer), Emily Cabral (Equestrian), Lyndsey Cobb-Wilkins (Women's Soccer & Softball), Clare Conway (Women's Ice Hockey & Women's Lacrosse), Jason Diamond (Men's Ice Hockey), Hailey Johnson (Equestrian), Julia Ravenelle (Women's Ice Hockey & Women's Lacrosse) and Jessica Santoro (Equestrian).


19 student-athletes were inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma.  Chi Alpha Sigma is a non-profit organization established to recognize college student-athletes who earn a varsity letter in at least one varsity sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulate GPA throughout their junior and senior years.  The following were inducted: Madison Ahn (Equestrian), Samantha Carter (Field Hockey & Women's Lacrosse), Kimberly Delorto (Equestrian), Brianna FitzGerald (Equestrian), Morgan Gould (Women's Volleyball), Brian Greene (Men's Ice Hockey), Madison Grenir (Women's Soccer), Alissa Jagielski (Equestrian), Jordan Inkley (Women's Soccer), Bayley Makloski (Football), Grant Martens (Men's Ice Hockey), Michael McMahon (Baseball), Lauren Niemann (Field Hockey & Softball), Austin Siering (Men's Ice Hockey), Valerie Slimskey (Equestrian), Samantha Talmadge (Women's Ice Hockey), Eric Trahan (Baseball), Sarah Ware (Women's Basketball) and Kelsey Weston (Softball).


Three Becker College student-athletes were inducted into Alpha Chi, which is extended to juniors and seniors who are in the top 10 percent of their class.  The following student-athletes were inducted: Ryan Clifford (Men's Ice hockey & Men's lacrosse), McMahon and Corey Schafer (Men's Ice Hockey).


The evening program followed with the Academic Awards Ceremony.  One of the awards was the Aspiring Scholar Award which has been selected by the faculty in their departments and represent underclassmen who show early promise in their field of study.  The following student-athletes were recognized: Courtney Furlong (Equestrian) – Equine Studies, Jonathan Gonzalez  (Men's Soccer) – Business: Management, McMahon – Sport Management, Yesenia Alvarez (Volleyball) – Early Childhood and Youth Education, Sarah Ellis (Softball) – Criminal Justice, Siering – Exercise Science: Health & Fitness, Talmadge – Exercise Science: Pre-Physical Therapy/Health Science.


The night wrapped with four major awards, which are the Outstanding Freshman, Sophomore, Junior and Senior Awards.  McMahon was awarded the Outstanding Junior Award while Adrianna Dowdy of the women's basketball team was the recipient of the Outstanding Senior Award.  These students were awarded these for their commitment to the Becker College Community both inside and outside the classroom.  They are well-rounded and recognized as a leader by fellow classmates.


Honor Society Induction and Academic Awards Ceremonies (4.9.19)