2017 NECC Golf Championship Round 2


WEST BOYLSTON, Mass. – For the fourth straight season, the Babson College Beavers walked home with the New England College Conference (NECC) Men's Golf Championship crown after 36 holes of action at Wachusett Country Club. The Beavers posted the lowest two-day total (587) in Championship history, pairing a record-setting first round score of 286 with a 301 in the final round. The previous Championship low was a 592, set by Babson during the 2011 Championship.

Back-to-back NECC Player of the Year sophomore Chris Bornhorst (West Newton, Mass.) led the Beavers with a tournament-low one-under, 143 (69-74), featuring a tournament-high 10 birdies with 19 pars. Freshman Reed Wilson (Redland, Calif.) claimed Rookie of the Year honors with a second-place finish, firing a 147 (70-77) across 36 holes, while classmate Martin Jensen (Bronxville, N.Y.) was one stroke back in third with a 148 (73-75). Babson freshman Lane Bohman (Chatham, Mass.) and junior Lukas Linemayr (Hampton, N.H.) earned Second Team All-NECC honors with sixth and seventh place finishes, respectively.

Springfield College placed second on the team leaderboard with a score of 621 (310-311). Sophomore Mike Strong (Newington, Conn.) claimed First Team All-NECC honors with a fourth-place finish, shooting a 149 (74-75), while freshman Jakob Raichle (Bethlehem, N.H.) was one stroke back in fifth with a 150 (78-72) to nab First Team All-NECC honors.

Elms College recorded a team score of 654 (324-330) for a third-place finish on the team leaderboard. Senior Brain Cowles (East Longmeadow, Mass.) led the Blazers with a team-low 158 (80-78) to finish tenth overall, earning Second Team All-NECC honors. Dean College finished fourth as senior Austin McCreary (Northampton, Mass.) finished sixth overall with a 154 to claim Second Team All-NECC status.

Becker College came in fifth overall with a score of 687 (347-340), featuring a 16th place finish for senior Macgregor Howey (Gross Ile, Mich.). Mitchell sophomore Nick Knisel (Weatogue, Conn.) led the Mariners to a sixth-place finish (701) with a team-low 156 (76-80) to place ninth overall, earning Second Team All-NECC honors. In exhibition action, Eastern Nazarene College finished seventh (739) behind a 17th place finish from freshman Michael Dietz (North Greensboro, S.C.)

2017 NECC Coach of the Year: Jeff Page, Babson College
2017 NECC Player of the Year: Chris Bornhorst, Babson College
2017 NECC Rookie of the Year: Reed Wilson, Babson College

First Team All-Conference
Chris Bornhorst, Babson
Reed Wilson, Babson
Martin Jensen, Babson
Mike Strong, Springfield
Jakob Raichle, Springfield

Second Team All-Conference
Lukas Linemayr, Babson
Lane Bohman, Babson
Austin McCreary, Dean
Nick Knisel, Mitchell
Brian Cowles, Elms

All-Sportsmanship Team
Lukas Linemayr, Babson
Mac Howey, Becker
Austin McCreary, Dean
Chris Soderberg, Elms
Nick Knisel, Mitchell
Travis Price, Springfield