Golf Finishes NECC Championship In Fifth Place, Powell Wins Coach of the Year

Golf Finishes NECC Championship In Fifth Place, Powell Wins Coach of the Year

STOW, Mass. - The Elms College men's golf team was crowned as the 2013 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Champions, recording a two-day team score of 641 at Wedgewood Pines Country Club. Nine strokes back of the lead after day one, the Blazers fired 324 on a soggy, wet second day of the tournament to edge out Babson College by two strokes, 643, after firing a 335 team-score on day two.

Senior Henry Fall (Harpswell, Maine) led the way for the Blazers as he became the first four-time member of the NECC All-Conference team. After tying the conference record for lowest championship round on day one, Fall earned All-NECC First Team honors turning in a scorecard of an 81 for a two-day total of 150. Fellow senior Tyler Cudnik (Hampden, Mass.) and Chris Miele (South Hadley, Mass.) also earned First Team recognition with matching two-day scores of 163 while Nick Smith (Enfield, Conn.) followed an 83 on Saturday with an 82 on Sunday.

Led by first year Head Coach Jeff Page, Babson College also earned the 2013 Team Sportsmanship Award while sophomore Vijay Vasandani (Cebu, Philippines) edged out Fall for 2013 NECC Player of the Year, by three strokes. All-square heading into the final day of the championship, Vasandani turned in a card of a 78 for a two-day total of 147.

Daniel Webster sophomore Clint Goodwin (Lebanon, N.H.) was named the 2013 NECC Rookie of the Year following up his first round score of 77 with an impressive 79 in wet and rainy conditions in round two for a two-day total of 156.

Newbury junior Cameron D'Agostino (Salisbury, Mass.) tied Elms' Cudnik and Miele for fifth place with a two-day total of 163 after firing an 87 on the second day to earn All-Conference First Team honors. It is the second All-Conference nod - first in men's golf - for D'Agostino after the North Shore native earned All-Conference honors in baseball as a freshman.

In her second year at the helm of the Becker College Hawks, Karen Powell was named the 2013 NECC Coach of the Year.

2013 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Awards

2013 NECC Player of the Year: Vijay Vasandani, Babson -- 69 78 147

2013 NECC Rookie of the Year: Clint Goodwin, Daniel Webster -- 77 79 156

2013 NECC Team Sportsmanship Award: Babson College

2013 NECC Coach of the Year: Karen Powell, Becker

All-NECC First Team
Vijay Vasandani, Babson College (69 - 78 -- 147)
Henry Fall, Elms College (69 - 81 -- 150)
Clint Goodwin, Daniel Webster College (77 - 79 -- 156)
Kyle DiFranco, Springfield College (74 - 83 -- 157)
Cameron D'Agostino, Newbury College (76 - 87 -- 163)
Tyler Cudnik, Elms College (82 - 81 -- 163)
Chris Miele, Elms College (83 - 80 -- 163)

All-NECC Second Team
Chris Maguire, Babson College (79 - 86 -- 165)
Nick Smith, Elms College (83 - 82 -- 165)
David Hashagen, Springfield College (81 - 84 -- 165)